A Long Time Coming: Anwar Ibrahim Has Been Sworn In As Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister

-Pic credit to JPM
Source: NST

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has been sworn in as the 10th prime minister.

He took his oath before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah at 5pm, ending his over two-decade wait to be appointed to the country’s top post.

The closest Anwar, 75, came to the post was as acting prime minister for two months in 1997. At the time he was deputy prime minister, a post he was appointed to in 1993.

In 1998, he was expelled from UMNO, fired from the government and arrested under the now defunct Internal Security Act.

The same year he intiated the Reformasi movement, leading to the formation of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR).

The coalition of two parties PKR and DAP in 2014, gave birth to Pakatan Rakyat which was later rebranded Pakatan Harapan (PH).

Anwar sworn in as Malaysia's 10th PM | Free Malaysia Today (FMT)
Source: FMT

In the recently concluded 15th General Election, PH emerged the biggest winner with 83 seats.

His immediate next task would be the formation of the government, which has been under the caretakership of Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

The country had been left without a new government for the last five days after the 15th general election (GE15) results threw up a hung parliament with no coalition winning the simple majority of 112 seats.