Six Districts in Selangor Will Be Under MCO From 6 May Until 17 May, Inter-District Travel Banned

(source: Malaysiakini)

Six districts in Selangor will go under the movement control order (MCO) effective May 6 until May 17.

Senior minister for security Ismail Sabri Yaakob in a press conference today said the six districts are Hulu Langat, Petaling, Gombak, Klang, Kuala Langat and Sepang.

Interstate and inter-district travel is not allowed in these six districts except for emergencies or work purposes.

According to a tweet by Science, Technology & Innovation Minister Khairy Jamaluddin, those who have to cross districts for vaccination appointments need only to show proof of their appointment on their MySejahtera app, website or by SMS.

“For MCO districts, you WILL be allowed to cross district lines for your vaccination appointment. Just show proof of your appointment on MySj, website or sms at district boundaries. You will not require a letter from the police,” read his tweet.

The remaining three districts in Selangor – Kuala Selangor, Sabak Bernam and Ulu Selangor will remain under conditional movement control order (CMCO).

(source: HRW)

This follows a drastic increase in Covid-19 cases in the state recently.

Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin previously announced that the government will no longer resort to such “blanket orders”. Instead, he said lockdown restrictions will be implemented on a targeted basis and within restricted localities from now on.

Currently, Kelantan is the only state with all districts under MCO.