Satoshi Tomiie, The Masters Series (Renaissance)

Satoshi hooks-up with Renaissance once again, marking their trilogy with another landmark mix, further confirming why he is considered a true master of house. The Japanese-by-way-of-New-York Don takes us on a sublime, deep tech-house excursion that draws on some of the brightest luminaries at work in the scene today, from Radio Slave to Layo & Bushwacka!, Jimpster, Motorcitysoul, Marc Romboy, Mlle Caro & Franck Garcia, Jeff Bennett and many more besides… The result is a forward thinking musical blueprint, as Satoshi himself elaborates, “My definition of house remains the same – ‘an open minded, evolving form of dance music'”.

The mix, which spans two CDs, is further distinguished by the additional production, be it the keys Satoshi plays on the Shur-i-kan intro or the loops and FX he subtly weaves throughout, enhancing the compilation’s mood and flow. However, the cake is well and truly iced by an exclusive in the form of his own, brand new single; under the guise of ‘Mes’, Madrugada is Satoshi at his unheard finest that will surely have aficionados chomping at the bit. Check the tracklist below.

Disc One
1. Shur-i-kan – Letting You Down
2. Toby Tobias – Eleven
3. Marc Romboy – Elif (Jimpster Remix)
4. Lee Jones – Weisses Kanninchen
5. Federleicht – On The Streets (Kollectiv Turmstrasse Let Freedom Ring Remix)
6. Dave Brennan – Drink Deep 2008 (Adultnapper Remix)
7. Luciano Pizzella – Rubber Man (Pizza Mix)
8. Bitter:Sweet – Moving Forward (Atjazz Remix)
9. HOSH – Steppenwolf (Jerome Sydenham Mix)
10. Layo & Bushwacka! – Djembe
11. Franck Roger – Don’t Leave Me
12. Lars Behrenroth – Ice On The Sun
13. Mlle Caro & Franck Garcia – Dead Souls (Radio Slave Long Distance Kiss Mix)

Disc Two
1. Mes – Madrugada
2. Gold Fish – This Is How It Goes (Nacho Marco Remix)
3. DJ Yellow – Une Vie à t’attendre
4. Jimpster – Dangly Panther (Audiomontage Remix)
5. Motorcitysoul Feat. Ovasoul 7 – Change You (Shur-i-kan Remix)
6. Nathan Drew Larsen – Touch Me (King Roc Remix)
7. Martin Beume – Nexus
8. Tomoki & Nono – Lark
9. Jeff Bennett – Plumes (Dave Basek Of Smoke Version)
10. Adultnapper – Apropills (Andomat 3000 Remix)
11. Sylar – Mellow (Original Mix)
12. James Kronier – Bladnoch (Sebastian Roya Remix)
13. Wareika – Impulse

Renaissance: The Masters Series mixed by Satoshi Tomiie is out December 2008.