Pet Shop Boys Break Out Animals Prints and New Album

We’re not sure what Neil Tennant is wearing but if our fashion knowledge serves us well Chris Lowe has last season’s SS09 adidas ObyO by Jeremy Scott on. Wahey! The pair has been busy of late and not just stocking their wardrobe. Apart from accepting a gong for Outstanding Contribution To Music award at this years Brit Awards in February, in March Pet Shop Boys released album Yes. We’re already mad about single ‘Love Etc’ and its accompanying video. More on that after the jump or click here for deets on the latest Adidas ObyO by Jeremy Scott for AW09.

In what is surely the pop collaboration of 2009, Pet Shop Boys teamed up with the hit pop production team Xenomania (Girls Aloud, Sugababes) for their new studio album. Featuring a total of 11 tracks and produced by Brian Higgins/Xenomania standout tracks on album Yes include the 1st single ‘Love Etc’ which Pet Shop Boys describe as “a post-lifestyle anthem which sounds like nothing we’ve done before.” It is one of 3 tracks co-written by Neil, Chris and producer Xenomania and the single issue includes a rerub by Frankmusik Star & Garter. Also of note ‘All Over The World’ which gets a little help from Tchaikovsky. 

Turning up on the album is Johnny Marr who plays guitar on several tracks, and orchestral arrangements on ‘Beautiful People’ and ‘Legacy’ are by Owen Pallett of Last Shadow Puppets fame. Neil, who was pushed a pen for now defunkt music mag Smash Hits, describes album as “a fantastic, wide-ranging, pop record.” Chris has been thrilled with the results commenting: “This album is amazing and it was great working with Xenomania!”

The album track listing is as follows, and the video of ‘Love Etc’ here
1 ‘Love Etc’
2 ‘All Over The World’
3 ‘Beautiful People’
4 ‘Did You See Me Coming?’
5 ‘Vulnerable’
6 ‘More Than A Dream’
7 ‘Building A Wall’
8 ‘King Of Rome’
9 ‘Pandemonium’
10 ‘The Way It Used To Be’
11 ‘Legacy’