Mixed by Sean Brosnan: Future Disco (Azuli)

It’s boldly decadent. It is enchanting and triumphant. Most of all, it’s the perfect up-yours to the doom and gloom of our current economical or political state. So it makes complete sense that disco should decide to rear its glittery head now. Future Disco is the first compilation of its kind to showcase the best in new wave disco.

Yes, disco is no longer a dirty word and Azuli’s latest compilation release, Future Disco, is cleaning up with the first comprehensive round up of the most vital sounds since the re-explosion of this genre. Key artists include Hercules & Love Affair, Friendly Fires, Greg Wilson, Crazy P and more, all of whom have been getting major love in the press of late, whilst hot tips for 2009 Areoplane, Holy Ghost and Runaway also feature.

With contributions from stellar labels like Eskimo, Tirk, DFA, Rekids and Full Pupp this sounds like essential listening for anyone interested in the phenomenon that is 2009’s take on Disco. The tracks have been re-edited and mixed by Sean Brosnan for a unique take on the tunage. Life can sometimes be a little mucky. Dance music can sometimes be a little grubby. Current times are most definitely gritty. Disco is the perfect remedy.

Get it in CD and digital download formats at all good record stores, iTunes and Beatport.

1. Ignition ‘Secret Sunday Lover’ (Greg Wilson Edit)
2. Panthers ‘Goblin City’ (Holy Ghost! Extended Disco Dub Mix)
3. Toby Tobias ‘The Feeling’ (Vinyl Version)
4. Tensnake ‘Congolal’
5. Friendly Fires ‘Paris’ (Aeroplane Remix)
6. Ilija Rudman ‘Ocean Colour’
7. Wild Rumpus ft. Beardyman ‘Rock The Joint’ (Reverso 68 Remix)
8. Matias Aguayo ‘Minimal’ (DJ Koze Remix)
9. Chaz Jankel ‘Get Myself Together’ (Hercules & Love Affair Herc Bump Mix)
10. Runaway Brooklyn Club Jam’ (LSB Baqueira Jam Mix)
11. Crazy P ‘Love On The Line’ (Unabombers Vocal Mix)
12. Franz Ferdinand ‘Ulysses’ (Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve Re-animation)
13. Holy Ghost! ‘Hold On’ (Mix 1)
14. Motorcycle Boy ‘Motorcycle Theme’ (Fabrizio Mammarella Edit)
15. Low Motion Disco ‘The Low Murderer Is Out At Night’
16. Marius VÃ¥reid ‘Skumle’

Text + Images Kim Smith for Insanity