El-P will sleep when you’re dead

Thirsty for JUICE content? Quench your cravings on our Instagram, TikTok and WhatsApp

Some of you might be familiar with Definitive Jux Records, New York City’s avante garde, music snob hip hop label whose roster of artists would probably burn to a crisp and just die if they were ever thrown into a Daddy Yankee video. (Probably.) The label has been responsible for anarchy-inducing underground classics from artists such as Mr. Lif, Aesop Rock, Cage, The Perceptionists and beatmeister RJD2.

Def Jux head honcho – and founding member of Company Flow, the crew that started the whole nerd rap movement back in ’97 – El-P (short for El Producto) is releasing a new solo album, entitled I’ll Sleep When You’re Dead. It’ll be his first vocal album (he releases instrumentals, too) since 2002’s Fantastic Damage, and will feature guest spots by Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails), The Mars Volta, Aesop Rock, Cage, Mr. Lif, Tunde Adebimpe (TV on the Radio), Matt Sweeney (Chavez/Bonnie “Prince” Billy/Zwan), James McNew (Yo La Tengo), Rob Sonic, Mr. Dibbs, and Cat Power. The buzz around this new album, set to be released March 6th next year, is so high, the CEO, MC and producer has had no choice but to… blog about it. Read up on it and get fresh with the Jux.

Juice WhatsApp banner