Darren Emerson: GU36: Bogota

You’d be hard pushed to find many long-standing figures in global dance music that are as passionate about what they do and who still do it for those much lauded ‘right reasons’ than Darren Emerson.

He’s stamped his mark on dance culture for 20 years, thoroughly resists the trappings of celebdom (his partner is a well-known TV personality), and still seeks out those emerging clubbing beacons spread-out across the world with the zeal of a wide-eyed newbie.

Bogota is the 3rd Global Underground mix from Darren, and he’s crowned his hat trick with a metaphorical 25 yard volley, a double CD journey into the modern dancefloor, with a couple of tricks thrown in to remind you that he remains at the pinnacle of his craft. Though he would probably dispel the ‘legend’ tag with a characteristically self-deprecating chuckle, the Essex-born DJ and producer, could rightly hold claim to such superlatives.

One of the early UK protagonists at the arrival of acid house, he went on to soundtrack British house’s emergence as a worldwide force; before forming a band called Underworld, and changing dance music forever.  Colombia’s Bogota is a city enjoying rapid change. Historically a cultural epicentre of the South American continent, it’s now a growing metropolis with a club scene in rude health. Having made the time-honoured transition from big outdoor events to a wealth of individual clubs, its boom time for electronic music. Cue the arrival of Emerson to honour Bogota with a Global Underground album that shares its musical values.

CD One begins with the chiming synths of the Underworld opus, ‘Mmm Skyscraper… I Love You’, before kickstarting the mix with Anja Schneider & Sebo K’s ‘Rancho Relaxo’, and the jacking house of Jagged’s ‘ Hello Kool Nice’ (Quarion Remix). Other highlights include Darren’s ‘Home’, Pete Heller’s ‘Sabotage’, and John Selway & Vincenzo Ragone’s ‘Dream Stealer’, and the electro-pop funk of Maja’s ‘Love Me For Tonight’.

Funk ‘Void’s remix of Itamar Sagi’s ‘One Million Oaks’ launches CD Two, which Emerson segues neatly into Kerri Chandler’s ‘Fortran’ (Argy’s Big Room Detroit mix). His recent single for GU, ‘Crash Jack’, is featured here via an exclusive mix from Jamie McHugh. Further standout cuts include Josh Wink’s ‘Counter Clock 319’, Matthew Jonson’s ‘Marionette’ (Adam Beyer mix), Spirit Catcher & Compuphonic’s ‘Mastermind’, Emerson & McHugh’s ‘Impact’, and Joris Voorn’s ‘Blank’. Darren closes the album with the full version of Underworld’s ‘Mmm Skyscraper… I Love You’, which depending on your raving age, is either a treasured memory or lesson in how it was done back then.

The compilation is released 2 March 2009. Check below for the complete tracklistings.

CD 01
1. Underworld ‘Mmm Skyscraper…I Love You’
2. Anja Schneider & Sebo K ‘Rancho Relaxo (Original)’
3, Jagged ‘Hello Kool Nice (Quarion Remix)’
4. Einzelkind ‘Out With A Bang’
5. Journey Man DJ ‘Shelley’s’
6. Mooncat ft. Ferank ‘Hear What Was Said (Skylark Remix)’
7. Stimming & Einmusik ‘Magdalena’
8. Darren Emerson ‘Home’
9. Nikitin & Semikashev ‘Blown’
10. Pete Heller ‘Sabotage’ 11. Kerri Chandler ‘Pong (Ben Klock Remix)’
12. Nikitin & Semikashev ‘Reflection Vector’
13. Nick Chacona ‘Mariacha’
14. John Selway & Vincenzo Ragone ‘Dream Stealer’
15. Maja ‘If You Love Me Tonight (Passarani Mix)’

CD 02
1. Itamar Sagi ‘One Million Oaks (Funk D’Void Remix)’
2. Kerri Chandler ‘Fortran (Argy’s Big Room Detroit Mix)’
3. Darren Emerson ‘Crash Jack (Jamie McHugh’s Exclusive GU Bogota Remix)’
4. Recloose ft. Joe Dukie ‘Dust (Induceve Remix)’
5. Josh Wink ‘Counter Clock 319’
6. Donnacha Costello ‘Black Bag Job 526’
7. Jamie McHugh ‘Lunar (Handycraft Remix)’
8. Mathew Jonson ‘Marionette (Adam Beyer Remix)’
9. Spirit Catcher & Compuphonic ‘Mastermind’
10. Nosmo vs Kris B & Ben Brown ‘La Cocina (Mazi Dubstramental Mix)’
11. Darren Emerson & Jamie McHugh ‘Impact’
12. Joel Mull ‘Viewpoint’
13. Joris Voorn ‘Blank’
14. Underworld ‘Mmm Skyscraper…I Love You’

Text & image IMD